top of page
Writer's pictureBilly Goulding

Balancing Full-Time Work with a Part-Time MA

For the past 18 months I have been juggling full-time work with pursuing a part-time master’s degree (MA). This experience has so far proven to be rewarding, but also challenging. With just over 3 months of the MA left, I have found myself reflecting on the experience as the finishing line approaches. In terms of balancing the two, I thankfully found what worked well for me, and what didn’t, quite early in the process. Whilst the MA has been a tremendous learning experience, the delicate act of balancing it with full-time work has also helped me develop skills that have benefited me in both a professional and personal capacity. This post will reflect on the experience and explore two of the skills I have developed.


Time Management

One of the most valuable skills I have developed during the experience is my ability to effectively to manage time. Before starting the MA, this was an aspect I was particularly worried about. I had only just returned to an in-person working environment after the Covid-19 enforced period of working remotely, and was unsure as to how my workload would be affected. The added prospect of having to plan a study timetable around this new working environment was slightly daunting. However, I recognized the importance of dealing with this early and gave myself a deadline for having an effective time management system in place by the end of week 3 of the academic term. From prior experience, I have found the first three weeks of an academic programme usually prioritise familiarising yourself with the module content, tools, and platform you will be using.


I used this three-week window to plan effectively by taking note of important assignment deadlines, prioritising tasks, breaking down larger tasks into smaller, more manageable chunks, and allocating each task a set amount of time. I also created a schedule around my personal life and stuck to it weekly. I found that by sticking to the same weekly schedule I was able to complete assignments in advance of the deadline which crucially allowed for time to review assignments before submission.



Self-Discipline




Another valuable skill I have developed during the process is self-discipline. With little time to waste procrastinating, I had to ensure I was disciplined and focused when completing assignments and tasks. This proved a little challenging at first, as for the past number of years I had been in the habit of mentally switching off after work. This required a mindset shift and I found that by planning my time efficiently and understanding exactly what I was going to do in a given time slot, I slowly developed the ability to avoid distraction and stay focused on the task at hand. The fact that the majority of assignments on the MA have been of a practical nature and involve exploring new software applications and design tools has made this process quite enjoyable.


This is a skill that has also been of immense benefit in a personal capacity. I have found that in instances of life admin and even exercising and working-out, I use my time far more efficiently nowadays. When committing to a task I find myself trying to abide by the rule of efficiency over quantity when it comes to time and effort invested. This has allowed me to free up a lot of previously wasted time.


Moving Forward

Of course, it has not always been plain sailing, and at times the workload has the potential to overwhelm, but I have found that by sticking to my routine that has served me so well and breaking down both work and academic assignments into smaller chunks, everything becomes manageable. When motivation dips, I remind myself of the valuable skills I am learning and how the work and effort I invest now in developing and improving these skills will hopefully ensure my transition into the Instructional Design space is a successful one.



Graphic source: Created on PPT.

Image Source: Created on Canva.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page